The San Bernardino County Board of Supervisors recognized 45 county employees for exceptional public service on May 7 during the county’s annual celebration of Public Service Recognition Week at the Fox Events Center in Redlands.

Employees were selected by their peers for the Award for Excellence based on their exemplary service to San Bernardino County and its citizens. This year marked the 35th year that the county has celebrated its top employees during Public Service Recognition Week, which is observed nationally during the first week of May.

“We are very fortunate to have a dedicated workforce in San Bernardino County,” said Board of Supervisors Chairman and Third District Supervisor Dawn Rowe. “Our residents benefit from the services that each of you and your departments continue to provide to them.”

Chief Executive Officer Luther Snoke praised the employees’ service.

“We are grateful to honor the 45 employees who continue to elevate the level of commitment to the Countywide Vision and provide excellent public service to over two million county residents,” said Snoke.

The hard work performed by over 23,000 of the county’s dedicated staff has made San Bernardino County the nation’s leading recipient of National Association of Counties Achievement Awards for two consecutive years, winning 160 last year.

The following are the 2024 Award for Excellence honorees and the departments they serve:

Ruben Padilla, Aging and Adult Services-Public Guardian

Daniel Smith, Agriculture/Weights & Measures

Carlos Prieto, Arrowhead Regional Medical Center

Steven Dougherty, Arrowhead Regional Medical Center

Aaron Castro, Arrowhead Regional Medical Center – Value Based Programs

Stanley Rodriguez, Assessor/Recorder/County Clerk

Ashely Guzman, Auditor-Controller/Treasurer/Tax Collector

Katherine Kolcheva, Board of Supervisors

Megan Perez, County Administrative Office

Guy Martinez, County Administrative Office – Finance and Administration

Lae Freeman, Children and Family Services

Jennifer Veal, Child Support Services

Shellie Murillo, Child Support Services

Julie Arentz, Clerk of the Board

Stephanie Navarro, Community Development and Housing

Yazmin Lopez, County Counsel

Charles Tsuei, District Attorney’s Office

George Sanchez, Economic Development Department

Traci Homan, First 5 San Bernardino

Taryn Leach, Fleet Management

Nancy Burcado, Human Services – Information, Technology & Support Division

Eric Guerra, Human Resources

Amber Anaya, Inland Counties Emergency Medical Agency

Paul Walcker, Innovation and Technology Department

Arlene Huerta, Land Use Services

Gary Thetford, Library

Lloyd Quarles, Museum

Dannie Galligani, Performance, Education & Resource Centers

Adrian Williams, Probation Department

Joe Sousa, Project & Facilities Management

Ron O’Neal, Project & Facilities Management

Angela Howard, Public Defender’s Office

Alana Moore, Public Defender’s Office

Victoria Urrea, Public Defender’s Office

Jodi Szklanka, Public Health

Rhunaldo Galamgam, Public Works – Special Districts

Charis Larson-Angel, Public Works – Special Districts

Jessica Barajas, Purchasing

Karen Damavandi, Real Estate Services

Islady Anaya, Registrar of Voters

Sharon Rieux, Risk Management

Christi Bonar, Sheriff’s Department

Michal  Jones, Sheriff’s Department – HOPE Team

Angelica Ruiz, Transitional Assistance Department

Devra Bell, Workforce Development Department

Additional County Update News – May 23, 2024