2014 AEP Winner Graphic tallFinal Government Works StampThe San Bernardino County Purchasing Department has received the 2014 Achievement of Excellence in Procurement (AEP) Award from the National Procurement Institute.  The Purchasing Department obtains materials, equipment, and services in excess of $800 million annually that are essential to providing services to the citizens of San Bernardino County.

The AEP program is recognized and endorsed by the National Institute for Government Purchasing and several other national and state organizations as the mark of excellence in public procurement.  San Bernardino County achieved a high score based on criteria identified by the Institute, representative of industry best practices including innovation, professionalism, productivity, and leadership attributes of the procurement organization.

“Receiving this award is an honor, and serves as a reminder to the staff that its hard work and adherence to high standards is recognized and appreciated,” said Director Laurie Rozko.  She adds, “Several staff members were also recently credentialed as by the Universal Public Procurement Certification Council (UPPCC), which is also recognized throughout the public procurement profession.”  The coveted Certified Public Procurement Officer (CPPO) and Certified Professional Public Buyer (CPPB) credentials demonstrate individual competence and comprehensive knowledge of public procurement.

On a daily basis, buyers and procurement staff conduct competitive bidding processes often involving complex subject matter and government regulations, and work in tandem with County Finance to plan and monitor processes that are critical to internal controls and budgetary goals.

This is an example of how Government Works.

1 thought on “Government Works: County Purchasing Department wins procurement award

  1. Congratulations to The San Bernardino County Purchasing Department on your procurement award. I’m sure this is a most prestigious award for your purchasing team and I’m sure the management are very proud. Are you in line to win the award again this year?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *